

Minutes

EPC MONTHLY MEETING

May 20, 2024
Virtual via Zoom
Zoom Meeting Recording
7:30 - 9:30 p.m.

Attendance

EPC Members (13)	Status	Staff
Kishla Askins	P	Melissa Atwood, T&ES
Dan Beattie	P	Felipe Ip, T&ES
Eldon Boes	P	Ryan Freed, Office of Climate Action
Alexander Clark	P	Dustin Smith, Office of Climate Action
Benjamin Cuddy	P	Nathan Randall, P&Z
Jennifer Debias	P	Karl Moritz, P&Z
Kathie Hoekstra, Chair	Е	Sophie Huemer, ACPS
Anna Marino	Е	
Philip Mobilia	P	Guests
Marta Schantz, Vice-Chair	P	Bill Pugh - Resident
Julia Slayden	P	Steve Banashek - Resident
James Vandeputte	Е	Steve Walz - Resident

P: Present; PR: Present Remotely; A: Absent - Unexcused; E: Absent - Excused; N: Not a Member

1. Welcome & Introductions

Vice-Chair Marta Schantz assumed the role of Chair in Kathie Hoekstra's absence. Chair Schantz called the meeting to order and introductions for all attendees followed.

2. Public Comment

<u>Bill Pugh</u>: Appreciation for ACPS facilities leadership for discussions last fall and for presenting to the EPC today. Mentioned hope and need for formal lessons in climate change to be added to ACPS classes.

3. Hoffman/Eisenhower East Coordinated Development District (CDD) proposal, Informational Update from P&Z

Mr. Karl Moritz opened discussions regarding how P&Z could connect more regularly with the EPC, such as providing updates on initiatives in P&Z's long range planning work program, which includes zoning for housing.

Mr. Nathan Randall presented a brief update on the Hoffman/Eisenhower East CDD. Presentation included background information on what CDDs are and their purpose; general layout of Hoffman/Eisenhower East CDD area by block, use, building heights, and land area; and other proposal information including parking, possible use as a public school, open space, and affordable housing. This CDD proposal is scheduled to be heard by Planning Commission and City Council next month (in June).

EPC supported the proposal for removing the parking minimums requirements. Commented on proposed school location and design. Discussion on minimums for sustainability and how Green Building Policy updates would generally parallel the elements the Office of Climate Action would propose for developments in this area.

EPC and P&Z discussed a letter of support for the elimination of parking minimums. Ms. Julie Slayden offered to draft the letter for EPC review and approval.

4. Presentation from ACPS

Ms. Sophie Huemer, Director of Capital Programs and Planning Design for Alexandria City Public Schools (ACPS), provided a presentation that covered information on how ACPS is reducing energy use and carbon emissions in school buildings, methods ACPS uses to approach resilience and sustainability, and how ACPS incorporated sustainability into modernizations.

5. Discussion on Eco-City Homes Recognition Program

Vice-Chair Schantz summarized the process of developing and designing the Eco-City Homes Recognition Program. Final design follows the Green Business Recognition Program model for award recognition where possible. The program covers single family and condo homeowners and renters. Multifamily, after discussion with the Office of Climate Action, is better suited as part of the Business Recognition Program. Recognition includes 3 tiers, where applicants must complete the prerequisites for each tier and 75% of the actions in each tier to achieve a given level.

This program is a recommendation from the EPC to the Office of Climate Action, who will update and implement as best suited for their programs and initiatives. EPC members were requested to go through this evaluation and see what level/tier they would achieve.

EPC members to send their home evaluations to Ms. Askins and Mr. Mobilia, with copy to Melissa.

6. Administrative Items

a) Announcement of EPC Annual Elections

Elections will occur at the June 17, 2024 meeting.

b) Meeting Minutes

Vote on April 15, 2024, regular meeting minutes, for approval. **Motion**: Mr. Al Clark; **Second**: Ms. Jennifer Debias; **Discussion**: change reference from "Eisenhower pipeline" to "Eisenhower Corridor."

Motion to approve minutes with the amendment to the Eisenhower Corridor: Ms. Ben Cuddy; Second: Mr. Dan Beattie; Vote: Unanimous approval.

c) Reports from Commissioners/Staff

Update from Mr. Eldon Boes:

 Waterfront Commission: Next meeting, Tuesday, May 21, 2024. No update at this time.

Update from Mr. Dan Beattie:

- <u>Transportation Commission</u>: Transportation survey results were discussed, and highlights provided. Mr. Dan Beattie will provide the link to Melissa to share with the EPC for their reference.

Update from Ms. Jennifer Debias:

- <u>Stormwater Commission:</u> Doing extended outreach for Flood Mitigation projects that include hybrid open house opportunities.

<u>Update from Melissa</u>: Stormwater Management has requested to attend the September 2024 EPC meeting to discuss the Chesapeake Bay TMDL proposal updates.

Update from Chair Schantz: As part of the Duke Street in Motion there are various options that provide bike lanes. Option 1 being the most beneficial to those residents closest to this location. Option 2 provides a four-mile-long bikeway between the new INOVA Hospital and the King St Metro. Chair Schantz proposed the EPC to provide a letter supporting option 2 and include a safety, climate, and equity perspective in the letter. Ms. Kishla Askins will draft a paragraph to include public health benefits in the letter.

- Motion to move forward with EPC letter with the addition of public health section and edits to safety section: Mr. Ben Cuddy; Second: Ms. Kishla Askins; Vote: Unanimous approval.
- Mr. Eldon Boes will proofread after the additional paragraph and safety information is added.

7. Adjourn

Motion to Adjourn: Mr. Eldon Boes.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:49p.m. Next regular meeting is Monday, June 17, 2024.

FY2024 Attendance

Member	Sept 18, 2023	Oct 16, 2023	Nov 11, 2023	Dec 11, 2023	Jan 22, 2024 (virtual only)	Feb 26, 2024 (virtual only)	Mar 18, 2024	Apr 15, 2024	Apr 27, 2024 (Retreat)	May 20, 2024	Jun 17, 2024	TOTALS
Kishla Askins						Р	Р	Р	Р	Р		100%
Dan Beattie	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р		100%
Eldon Boes	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р		100%
Alexander Clark	Р	Р	Р	Р	Е	Р	Α	Р	Р	Р		89%
Benjamin Cuddy	Р	Р	P	Е	Р	Р	Е	Р	Р	Р		100%
Jennifer Debias	Р	Е	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р		100%
Cynthia Elliott	Р											
Oleksandr Faryga	А	Е										
Kathie Hoekstra	Е	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Е		100%
Anna Marino	Р	Р	Р	А	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Е		90%
Philip Mobilia		Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р		100%
Michael Olex	Р	Е	Р	Р	Р							100%
Theresa Romanosky	Р	Р	Е	Р	Р	Р	Е					100%
Marta Schantz	Р	Р	Р	Е	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р		100%
Julia Slayden					Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р		100%
James Vandeputte	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Е		100%