Main content
City of Alexandria Homepage
Monday, December 22  •  39°Light Drizzle Air Quality: Yellow
CloseWeather Forecast
Today: High 37° Low 36°
Light RainAir Quality: Yellow
Tue: High 45° Low 43°
CloudyAir Quality: Yellow
Wed: High 62° Low 54°
Rain/ThunderAir Quality: Yellow
Thu: High 52° Low 35°
Partly CloudyAir Quality: Green
Fri: High 54° Low 34°
Schedule of Services for the Christmas Holiday Week -- Updated 12/22/2014 12:38:16 PM

All City of Alexandria government offices will be closed on Wednesday, December 24; Thursday, December 25; and Friday, December 26, in observance of the Christmas holidays. Residential refuse and recycling will be collected on Wednesday, December 24. There is no collection scheduled on Thursday, December 25; and Thursday’s collection will take place on Friday, December 26.

City of Alexandria, VA City of Alexandria, VA
Communications & Public Information
Share Share RSS RSS Print Print Text Size Text Size NormalText Size LargeText Size Extra Large
Page updated Apr 18, 2008 7:36 AM

No Comments Posted Yet


Public Safety personnel from the City of Alexandria’s Fire Department, Police Department and Sheriff’s Office will be honored for their acts of heroism at the 22nd Annual Valor Awards on Monday, April 21. The event is organized by the Alexandria Chamber of Commerce through its presenting sponsors Jack Taylor’s Alexandria Toyota and CVS pharmacy.

The event, which is open to the public, begins with a luncheon program at 12 p.m. at the Hilton Mark Center, 5005 Seminary Rd. It will recognize 28 men and women for going above and beyond the call of duty.

This year’s honorees include: Firefighter Mike Dunn, Sheriff’s Captain James Robey, contract employee Paul Devin, Firefighter Michael Chandler, Medic II James Blivin, Medic II Frederick Koerner, Medic II John Rule, Medic II Amy Stephens, and Police Officer Michael Nugent, all receiving Lifesaving Awards. Honored with a bronze medal will be Fire Battalion Chief Joe Hoffmaster, Police Officer Ryan Wells, Police Officer Patrick Taylor, Police Lieutenant James Bartlett, Firefighter Lydia Majak, Police Officer Steven Pagach, and Crime Scene Investigator Thomas Ground. Receiving the Silver Medal are Firefighter David Denardo, Police Officer Christopher Ashcraft, Deputy Sheriff John Triplett, Firefighter Kenneth Salfelder, Firefighter Gregory Nichols, Fire Captain Phil Perry, and Officer Gregory Holden.

The highest recognition, the Gold Medal, will be presented to Police Officer Nick Lion and Animal Control Officer Pete Fitzgerald for rescuing persons from a burning building; and to Police Officers Thomas Meehan, Patrick Gittlesohn and John Saitta, for attempting a rescue and assisting at a car accident and explosion.

“Every year we are amazed at the heroic acts of these public safety personnel, both while on and off duty,” said event Chairman Deborah Johnson of Dominion.  “It is the Chamber’s pleasure to honor these acts of valor.”

The program, featuring stories of all the actions of the award recipients, will be emceed by NBC News4 reporter Julie Carey. Also featured will be music from the Bishop Ireton saxophone quartet. Reservations for the event are $40 for public safety personnel and $55 for the general public, and can be made online at under the events section.

# # #